Get married in our romantic Blue Ridge Mountains! Here are our top places for weddings in Asheville and nearby western North Carolina towns. These venues graciously accommodate your wishes for a ceremony or reception, along with banquets, group dinners and family reunions. We are a hot spot for destination dream weddings, bringing in family and friends from across the country to create a vacation for everyone (see our top things to do)! Find the most scenic locations indoors and outdoors including lakes, farms and barns. Or head to downtown Asheville with many hotels and restaurants within walking distance. Photo above by Meghan Rolfe.
Also find resources like officiants, planners and photographers on our Wedding Planners & Other Services guide. For information on how to get a wedding license, go to the bottom of this page. If just two (or so) of you, see our Elopement Guide.
Top Wedding Venues by Category
30 Places to Get Married, Officiants, Planners, Photography
Indoor Venues:... read more
Indoor Facilities: Surrounded by walls of... read more
Indoor Venues: The venue capacity is 230 for... read more
Indoor Venues:... read more
Indoor Facilities: Step inside to “mountain elegance with a... read more
More Asheville Wedding Ideas
- Looking for a great place to pop the question? See the Top 10 Places to Propose at Biltmore or the Best Mountain Views.
- For your honeymoon, stay at a top rated hotel, mountain cabin or romantic B&B.
- Elope! See our guide to the best places and tips for eloping in Asheville.
- For very fun ideas for bachelorette and bachelor parties, see our Top 25 Guided Tours. Our top pick is LaZoom Comedy Tours on a festive purple bus with zany performers. Haunted evening tours and extra festive beer and band tours too!
- The South Slope Brewing District in Asheville is a popular celebration area for a craft brewery walking tour.
Getting a Marriage License in Asheville
Marriage Licenses are issued during business hours (8 AM-5 PM) at the Buncombe County Register of Deeds Office at 205 College Street, Asheville. Arrive by 4:30 PM. For more info, call 828-250-4301.
- To obtain a license, both parties must be present with valid photo identification AND Social Security Cards. (See "laws" below for alternative forms of ID.)
- The license is valid for 60 days from the date of issue and can be used for marriage anywhere within the state of North Carolina.
- The fee for the Marriage License is $60 and can be paid with cash/check/Visa/MasterCard.
- For your convenience, you may complete the Online Marriage License Application from home prior to your visit. The Application can also be completed upon arrival at the Register of Deeds office.
- Once the ceremony is performed, the completed license must be returned to the Register of Deeds Office within 10 days. A certificate of marriage can then be issued.
- See North Carolina Marriage Laws below for more.
Getting Married in the Asheville Courthouse
Once you obtain a marriage license (see below), marriages can be performed by a civil magistrate on the 2nd floor of the Buncombe County Courthouse (60 Court Plaza, Asheville). The magistrate is generally available to perform marriages on weekdays at 8:30 AM and 4 PM. However, this is not always the case, so it is advisable to call the magistrate’s office before arriving to ensure that he will be available. The fee is $20, payable in cash only. For more information, please call the magistrate’s office at 828-259-3407. You will need two witnesses.
If you would like to get married after business hours or on the weekend, you may be able to do so by a criminal magistrate at the Buncombe County Jail. Please contact the criminal magistrate’s office at 828-250-4690 for more information.
North Carolina Marriage Laws
- There is no waiting period to be married in North Carolina. Once the license is issued by the Register of Deeds Office it is good for only 60 days.
- Persons need not be residents of this state to marry in this state.
- The person performing the marriage ceremony must return both completed license to the Register of Deeds Office in the county where the license was originally issued or be subject to a $200 fine. The 2 (two) witnesses must include their addresses on both the original and copy of the license. A license issued in one County may be used in any county in North Carolina.
- The Marriage License fee set by N. C. Law, is currently $60.
- A Physician’s Health Certificate of Blood Test is not required.
- The Register of Deeds shall require proof of age from all persons making application for a marriage license. A person between 18 and 21 years of age is required to present a certified birth certificate. Persons 21 or older may present any one of the following forms of ID: Drivers license, military ID, passport, state ID or a certified birth certificate.
- The Register may accept a Social Security Number from a social security card or one of the following with the number on it:
- A W-2 Form
- A paycheck stub
- Military discharge
- Medicaid/Medicare Card
- Voter’s Registration Card containing their Social Security Number.
- Health Insurance Card containing their Social Security Number
- An Internal Revenue Service (W-7 Form) or an affidavit of ineligibility is acceptable for anyone . who has never had a Social Security Number and are not entitled to one. (Such affidavits are good for 60 days only.
- Persons 16 or 17 years of age must submit a certified copy of their birth certificate and at least one parent, or legal guardian with full or joint custody, who have proper identification, and who will give their written consent (on the marriage applications) and meet the above requirements.
- All other persons under the age of 16 years must call the Register of Deeds Office for information regarding a marriage license. Persons under the age 14 may not marry regardless of circumstances.
- A North Carolina Marriage may be performed or solemnized by the following only:
- An Ordained Minister
- A Minister Authorized by his church
- A District Court Magistrate
- By the Society of Friends, according to customs of the Society
- By a local Spiritual Assembly of the Baha is in accordance to the usage of their religious community.
- By any person authorized by any religious denomination or of any recognized Indian Nation or Tribe.
- A Marriage must be witnessed by 2 (two) people who are present at the marriage. The Witnesses must place their names and addresses on the original and the copy of this license in legible handwriting and in ink.
- Once the marriage has been performed and both copies of the License returned to the Register of Deeds Office, a Certificate of Marriage may be obtained upon request. Each certified certificate is currently $10.
- Same sex marriages were legalized in North Carolina in 2014.
- Common Law & Bigamous Marriages are void in North Carolina.
- Marriages of person’s nearer kin than first cousins are unlawful in North Carolina.